The Verdict is In

Well, he made  his decision. What a relief to him and to me. It was a tough one. Does he stay, out of his element, risk not being the most popular kid (which he definitely could be…it’s those blue eyes). His first sort-of grown up decision and he made it by himself. He will be homeschooling through high school.

I did it once with our oldest daughter, but I wasn’t sure I could do it again. When I saw the peace on his face though, then I knew we could do it. This time I don’t have that voice in the back of my head saying “what are you…crazy?”. I unabashedly know the answer to that question is a definite “yes”! Yet, there was no panic, no freaking out that I may be making the wrong decision for one of my children. He definitely had an out, he could have gone to the high school. He went for 4 days, but he knew, he’d rather be home schooled. And for one of the first and rare times, I know he should be. It feels nice to know that you have peace over such a huge decision.

Here’s the line up:

Starting Points~Building a Biblical World View, Cornerstone Curriculum does an awesome job laying a foundation for young people (and us old ones too) to discover what they think about the world, the bible and the influences of our lives and why they think that way. It covers American History, Literature and even a Bible credit as an elective.

Wordly Wise and 180 daily lessons for Easy Grammar

Biology through Life Pac

Teaching Textbooks Algebra 1

Health and P.E. (which will consist of walking with mom along with other work outs to help me…um him stay in shape)

Monday will be our first official day of high school in home school. I’m looking forward to it. Meanwhile, the Diva is enjoying herself in her element in the public school. I can see  a new level of maturity in her as well. Really buckling down with the studying. She wants to go into the nursing profession– specifically radiology. She will do well. As for the Book Worm, well, what else would she decide to do but to go into journalism. Writing is second nature to her. She is taking a semester off to save some money, but is constantly stimulating herself with math practice and of course reading everything she can get her hands on.

Things are tight here financially, the dryer is broken, we had a pipe burst the other day, property  tax bill came in the mail today and so did the car tag bill,  but life is good. Really good. I am discovering more and more each day how much I appreciate the simplicity of life and the joys of my blessed family. I love it! I can’t wait to see what tomorrow has in store!

This entry was posted in Random thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Verdict is In

  1. Kristin says:

    So glad he made his decision, and it’s one you’re both happy with! We’re just starting our third year of homeschooling, and I can’t imagine what it’ll be like by the time high school gets here…you’re an awesome mama for taking it on! 🙂

  2. Cindi says:

    The positives are outweighing the negatives! YAY!

Leave a Reply

