Frugal Food

Okay, so I thought I have always been fairly frugally minded when it comes to feeding my family. However, an ever enlarging grocery bill told a different story. So I’ve been learning to do some things differently. Using coupons matched with sales, I’ve been slowly bringing down our grocery bill as well as learning to maximize the use of said groceries. Thanks to my friends Cindi and Anah I learned a new way to have chicken or beef stock in my house without paying for those high priced boxes in the store. Come on people, this is the way our grandmothers did it. Now I’m going to share it with you. It’s so simple, you are not going to believe it. And as far as storage containers go–thanks to Anah, I’ve been saving my kids gatorade bottles, washing them out and reusing them to store the stock in the freezer in. (She’s s frugal GENIUS!)

For the last several weeks, every time we eat one of those rotisserie chickens (okay, you may be saying not that frugal, but hey, when you live in the south and a whole bird is going to cost you around $5 anyway- why not let someone else cook it for you, less heat in my kitchen right) anyway, back to the bird, remove the meat, for many and various recipes, save the bones and put in a zip lock bag in the freezer. Next, when you are preparing vegetables, onions, celery, carrots, asparagus, tomatoes, squash, etc., those end pieces that you cut off and throw away– DON’T, instead put those in a separate zip lock bag in the freezer too. Once you have a bag full of bones and a bag full of veggies, dump it all in the crock pot, cover with water, set on low and let it go. I did this before bed and turned the crock pot off in the morning. I had a delicious concentrated stock that I can use in soups and recipes and it didn’t cost me a thing. After the stock cooled, I removed the veggies with a slotted spoon and ladled the stock into my bottles. Popped them into the freezer and voila’!

I’ll share more later about what to use the meat from those rotisserie chickens for later. I can usually get a couple of meals out of one bird to feed my crew which consists of 3 teenagers!

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Frugal Food

  1. Cindi says:

    LOVE crockpot chicken broth!

Leave a Reply

