Things I Forgot at Birth

I think there are a few things I forgot when I was born. Things that I’ve had to learn again. Things that I am learning again through the rebirth of Christ in my life.

 I forgot how to be comfortable in my own skin. Constantly hearing condemnation in my mind from what our culture has thrust upon us as perfection. Who decided anyway that what is considered beautiful comes in size 2 jeans, size 36 bust and gorgeous blonde locks that were naturally curly on the days you wanted them to be and naturally straight on the days that you didn’t want to fuss with curls? Why after only a few short years of life, was I suddenly dissatisfied with how I looked? I want to get back to that place of comfort. After all God doesn’t make mistakes. So I must look exactly like He intended for me to. Of course I’ve allowed the pounds to creep on, but that was my doing through years of self hatred. And why do we think if we beat ourselves up enough by saying that we are ugly, fat, or unlovable, that this kind of thinking will make us better? That we will finally beat ourselves into submission to “do” the right things? Usually we avoid people who dislike us, hate us, those who are bullies to us. Yet, we put up with it from our own mouths and thoughts.

I think I not only forgot that I was loved immensely by my Heavenly Father before I was even a thought to my parents, but also how to allow myself to be loved. I am slowly re-learning to walk in this. It all goes with that self hatred thing. Not ever feeling as if I am good enough. Well, truthfully, I’m not, but I have to remind myself that Jesus makes me more than good enough.

I forgot how to feel protected. Instead I let things bother me now. I forgot how to let go of pain. Man, do I wish I could remember this one! I’ve held so much pain in my life, that now my body truly does ache.

There are many more things that I’ve forgot at birth. As I recall them I will post them here. But what I am learning is that all the things I forgot at birth, Christ has given to me again in salvation. My Heavenly Father has written them down as a reminder to me in a love note. Because we all forget things at birth. And He wants us to remember. Do you have things you forgot at birth? Feel free to share them here and remind us all of those forgotten things.

Genesis 1:27 So God created man in His own image; in the image of God He created him; male and female He created them.

Jeremiah 1:5 “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you; Before you were born I sanctified you;

Psalm 91:1 He who dwells in the secret place of the Most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty.

1 Peter 5:6-7 Therefore humble yourselves under the mighty hand of God, that He may exalt you in due time, casting all your care upon Him, for He cares for you

This entry was posted in Random thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Things I Forgot at Birth

  1. Lacy(navyfrugalista) says:

    I think your post was beautiful, inspiring and filled to the brim with TRUTH. I can’t wait to see what else comes thru this blog!!!

Leave a Reply

